Tags

, , , , , ,

Hi, my name is Coach Gil Moody, and would like to welcome you all to an ongoing series called: “College Recruiting”. To gain a better insight on this topic, I have reached out to several formal: High School Athlete’s that are currently playing collegiate sports or had played and now have graduated from college.  Below is one of these interviews.

Please welcome Spenser Patrick Rositano

Spenser Patrick Rositano1

Sport: Football
Position: Defensive Back
Height: 6-1
Height: 208
Hometown: Ashburn, VA
High School: Stone Bridge H.S.

HIGH SCHOOL

Earned Virginia Preps All-State first-team honors and Virginia High School League All-State first-team honors in 2009 and 2010 as a safety at Stone Bridge High School; also played wide receiver and handled kickoffs, punting and punt-return duties … twice gained Northern Region first-team accolades and Liberty District first-team honors … was a Washington Post All-Met second-team selection as a senior … made 79 tackles (61 solos) and six interceptions in 2010; returned two interceptions and two punts for touchdowns … made 27 receptions for 570 yards and six scores as a senior … converted a 48-yard field goal in 2010 … booted a 68-yard punt as a junior … played for Bulldogs head coach Mickey Thompson … also starred on the school’s baseball team, earning Liberty District Player of the Year accolades and Northern Region first-team honors.

Spenser Patrick Rositano8

Q: What College are you currently attending or have graduated from?

A: I am currently attending Boston College.

Q: What sports were you recruited for, and played in College? Did you play more than one sport in College?

A: I was recruited for football and baseball, but I chose to stick with football in college

Q: Did you play more than one sport in High School, and if so which sports were they?

A: In high school I played football and baseball

Spenser Patrick Rositano7

Q: What preparations did you take to research what colleges you were interested in?

A: When looking at colleges I tended to focuses on the colleges that were most interested in me. By looking at all of the colleges that were interested in me, I was able to narrow done the schools that would be a good fit for my future.

Q: Have you heard of College Board, and have you used it? Was it helpful in your college selection process?

A: Yes, and No

Spenser Patrick Rositano3

Q: What kind of advice did your coach and or guidance counselor gave you about researching and selecting a college?

A: The advice that my coaches and counselors gave me were pretty similar to what my parents told me – Each of them told me to pick a university that i could see myself attending as if I were not playing a sport. By thinking in that state, I tried to find a university that fit me personally, athletically, academically, socially, etc.

Q: What advice did your parents give you to help throughout your college selection process?

A: My parents did not really give me any advice when selecting a college.They wanted me to pick a university that fit me best. In addition, my parents would drive or fly me to several universities so I was able to see the campus and get a feel for what the university was like. They gave me opportunities that many don’t usually get – for that I am forever grateful.

Spenser Patrick Rositano4

Q: Were you under the impression that it was your coach’s responsibility to get you recruited? If so, where did you get that impression from?

A: I was never under the impression that it was my coaches job to get me recruited. I knew from day one that if i wanted the opportunity to play at the next level, then I would have to be willing to work everyday on and off the field, in the classroom, and make good decisions outside of school and practice to allow me to get an opportunity to play college football

Q: Did you attend any college summer camps? How many did you attend, and do you believe that it help you get recruited?

A: In total I believe I attended eight college camps. Going to camp in my opinion was the one thing that allowed me to get my name out and earn a scholarship. In today’s society, unless you are a freak athlete, high school students will mostly likely not get recruited unless they have attended camps in the summer.

Q: Did your coach suggest that you attend college summer camps, and if so at what grade level did you start to attend?

A: My coach advised me to visit camps because different schools wanted me to workout for them live; but he never forced the issue on me. That being said, I started going to camps the summer going into my sophomore year.

Spenser Patrick Rositano9

Q: There several recruiting services, and combine services, have you tried any of them, and do you think that they were helpful?

A: I did the NIKE Combine twice just to see if i was progressing in my off season workouts. I never really used these services – or events as a recruiting tool.

Q: What did you do to help yourself get recruited, and would you recommend the same to others?

A: As I mentioned early, the recruiting process for me was very difficult, so i knew going in that i was going to have to do everything i could just to get myself noticed by Division 1 schools. Furthermore, I simply put in the work on and off the field, in the classroom, went to camps, and did everything I possibly could to give myself an advantage to earn – and give myself an opportunity to succeed.

Q: What was the biggest surprise to you during the college recruiting process?

A: The biggest surprise to me during the college recruiting process was that I did not have any Division 1 offers until going into the playoffs of my senior year. I started to get nervous, but I continued to keep my faith and work hard everyday, and I eventually earned my scholarship to Boston College where I currently reside today!

Thank you Spencer Rositano for sharing your college recruiting experiences with our readers. We would love to have you back to share what it is like to be a college athlete.

Regards,

Coach Moody

