Tags

, , , , , ,

Hi, my name is Coach Gil Moody, and would like to welcome you all to an ongoing series called: “College Recruiting”. To gain a better insight on this topic, I have reached out to several formal: High School Athlete’s that are currently playing collegiate sports or had played and now have graduated from college.  Below is one of these interviews.

Please welcome Chanel Murchison

headshot_2_1-IMG_518637

Position: Guard/ Forward
Height: 5’10
Hometown: Stafford, VA
High School: Colonial Forge

High School

Earned four varsity letters as a guard and shooting forward for coach Michelle Darley at Colonial Forge High School … Honorable mention McDonald’s All-American in 2008 … Named honorable mention all-state in 2006-07 by VirginiaPreps.com … Second-team all-district as a freshman … First-team all-district as a sophomore and junior … Four-time all-academic honoree … Also earned two letters as a thrower in track … District Champion in the shot put indoors in 2007 … Senior class President, after serving as class Vice President in 2006-07 and Treasurer in 2005-06 …

 

Q: What College are you currently attending or have graduated from?

A: I graduated from The College of William and Mary in May 2013.

Q: What sports were you recruited for, and played in College? Did you play more than one sport in College?

A: I was recruited for and played women’s basketball.

Q: Did you play more than one sport in High School, and if so which sports were they?

A: I played basketball as well as, was thrower on the track and field team.

50d4f15f575d5.image

Q: What preparations did you take to research what colleges you were interested in?

A: I had to have a slight idea of what major fields interested me then see if those areas of study were available at the schools interested in me. It was easier to see what schools were interested in me, and then work from there.

Q: Have you heard of College Board, and have you used it? Was it helpful in your college selection process?

A: Yes, I have and I used the books available that give you basic admission and academic information of every institution in the country. These books were simply a resource, they helped but in only in a very baseline way.

Q: What kind of advice did your coach and or guidance counselor gave you about researching and selecting a college?

A: My coaches made it clear that this was a decision I had to make on my own. I think that was the best advice.

My guidance counselors were effective in making sure that my academic success in high school could continue on after I graduated, in respect to taking courses that could benefit me in college.

VLROVYYTXVRSKHG.20130307050756

Q: What advice did your parents give you to help throughout your college selection process?

A: My parents were very supportive and just like my coaches stressed that, they weren’t the ones that would be going to the classes, spending time on the campus, and all the other aspects of going to college and playing a sport, so the I would have to make the overall decision, but they were definitely helpful in narrowing my options.

 

Q: Were you under the impression that it was your coach’s responsibility to get you recruited? If so, where did you get that impression from?

A: No, I knew that in order to get looks I would have to put in the work both on and off the court. However, I think a good and supportive coach would naturally want to encourage and help their athletes in reaching their full potential in any way possible. Fortunately, I was lucky enough to have coaches like that in my corner.

Q: Did you attend any college summer camps? How many did you attend, and do you believe that it help you get recruited?

A: I attended The University of North Carolina’s team and individual camps, as well as Virginia Commonwealth University team camp.

However, I’d assume most amateur basketball athletes will compete on an AAU team and that’s where they will get most recognition, I believe that’s the platform that helped me most with being recruited.

1011631_10200315156192791_165706810_n

Q: Did your coach suggest that you attend college summer camps, and if so at what grade level did you start to attend?

A: No, I attended most camps at a young age, or with my team.

Q: There several recruiting services, and combine services, have you tried any of them, and do you think that they were helpful?

A: N/A

Q: What did you do to help yourself get recruited, and would you recommend the same to others?

A: First, I did my homework; I knew what I wanted in my experience as a collegiate athlete. I wanted a school with good academics, a program that was respectable, and not too far from home. Secondly, I put in the work.

However, you also have to sell yourself as a person. The coaches are going to call you, they are going to call your coaches, and you want to be able to sell what kind of individual you are on and off the court. You also want your high school/AAU coach to be able to talk about you in a positive light. I think that is the most important, because they can probably find someone else with the same skills as you somewhere.

Q: What was the biggest surprise to you during the college recruiting process?

A: I think the biggest surprise in the recruiting process is learning that it is a business. Recruiting is a job, and therefore the process is business.

Thank you Chanel Murchison for sharing your college recruiting experiences with our readers. We would love to have you back to share what it is like to be a college athlete.

 

Regards,

 

Coach Moody

 

 

