Tags

, , , , , ,

Hi, my name is Coach Gil Moody, and would like to welcome you all to an ongoing series called: “College Recruiting”. To gain a better insight on this topic, I have reached out to several formal: High School Athlete’s that are currently playing collegiate sports or had played and now have graduated from college.  Below is one of these interviews.

 

Please welcome Jared Silva

 Silva-signing-350x198

Position: Baseball Pitcher

Height: 6’0

Weight: 190

Home Town: Charles Town, WV

High School: Washington High School, 2014 graduate

 

Q: What College are you currently attending or have graduated from?

A:   I am going into my first semester at the Virginia Military Institute.    

Q: What sports were you recruited for, and played in College? Did you play more than one sport in College?

A:  I was recruited for baseball. I will only be playing baseball during my involvement at VMI.

Q: Did you play more than one sport in High School, and if so which sports were they?

A: I only played varsity baseball in high school.

Jared Silva2

Q: What preparations did you take to research what colleges you were interested in?

A: To prep for my research, I looked at the school’s baseball program, their academics, if they had my major, where the college was, and the lifestyle/environment of the college. Financing was the last thing I looked at during my research.

Q: Have you heard of College Board, and have you used it? Was it helpful in your college selection process?

A: Yes, I have heard of College Board and I used it here and there during my college research, in which I found it to be very useful.

Q: What kind of advice did your coach and or guidance counselor gave you about researching and selecting a college?

A:  My coach and/or guidance counselor told me to find a place I could see myself at for the next four years or so— somewhere I would like to be at and a place that would benefit me.

Jared Silva4

 

Q: What advice did your parents give you to help throughout your college selection process? 

A: My parents told me to keep an open mind during my college research. They said to weigh the pros and cons and to find a place suitable for me that I would feel comfortable at.

Q: Were you under the impression that it was your coach’s responsibility to get you recruited? If so, where did you get that impression from?

A:  I never once thought that it was solely up to my coaches to get me recruited. I believed that they were there for help, upon showing ambition and reaching out to them for help.

Q: Did you attend any college summer camps? How many did you attend, and do you believe that it help you get recruited?

A:  I don’t recall ever attending college summer camps. However, I did participate in a few college baseball camps in the fall.

Jared Silva3

Q: Did your coach suggest that you attend college summer camps, and if so at what grade level did you start to attend?

A: Yes, my coach suggested going to camps. I began attending them the fall of my sophomore year in high school.

Q: There several recruiting services, and combine services, have you tried any of them, and do you think that they were helpful?

A:  I registered with an online recruiting service called CaptainU through my former travel team. It seemed to be helpful, however I rarely used it.

0269843517-Silva

Q: What did you do to help yourself get recruited, and would you recommend the same to others?

A: To help myself get recruited, I started to reach out to collge coaches via email, I made myself a profile, I began to make a recruiting DVD, and I simply reached out to one of my coaches for help. I would recommend these same tactics to others for their recruiting processes.

Q: What was the biggest surprise to you during the college recruiting process?

A: The biggest surprise to me during my recruitment process is how much of a business it really is. College recruitment acts early and fast, therefore you have to get yourself out there before it may become too late.

2462

Thank you, Jared Silva for sharing your college recruiting experiences with our readers. We would love to have you back to share what it is like to be a college athlete.

Regards,

Coach Moody

 

