Tags

, , , , ,

Hi, my name is Coach Gil Moody, and would like to welcome you all to an ongoing series called: “College Recruiting”. To gain a better insight on this topic, I have reached out to several formal: High School Athlete’s that are currently playing collegiate sports or had played and now have graduated from college.  Below is one of these interviews.

Please welcome Marc Kagan

10519744_816961628337987_437748299_n

Position: Defensive Line

Height: 6’0

Weight: 275

Hometown: Sebastian, FLA

High School: Sibastian River

High School:

High School: Went to Sebastian River High School … Played Offensive Line for the Sharks … Was apart of 20 wins during his career … Named to the All-Area Football Team in 2010 by TCPALM … Named to the 2011 All-Treasure Coast Team by TCPALM … Played one year of Lacrosse … Was an honors graduate.

10544850_816961638337986_708436407_n

Q: What College are you currently attending or have graduated from?

1. Stetson University

Q: What sports were you recruited for, and played in College? Did you play more than one sport in College?

2. Football

Q: Did you play more than one sport in High School, and if so which sports were they?

3. Football, track (shot put), lacrosse

10011243_273296572849305_308513830_a

Q: What preparations did you take to research what colleges you were interested in?

4. As I got letters from schools, I would go online and find some basic information about the school.

Q: Have you heard of College Board, and have you used it? Was it helpful in your college selection process?

5. Yes. It was one of my main research tools that I used.

Q: What kind of advice did your coach and or guidance counselor gave you about researching and selecting a college?

6. I reviewed things with my coach fairly regularly throughout the process to get his perspective on how I would fit at certain schools and what the coaches were saying to him.

10522066_816961631671320_197399424_n

Q: What advice did your parents give you to help throughout your college selection process?

7. My father was a huge help throughout the process because he did a lot of research on many schools and gave me advice on his thoughts about each school.

Q: Were you under the impression that it was your coach’s responsibility to get you recruited? If so, where did you get that impression from?

8. I knew that the recruiting process was primarily my responsibility.

Q: Did you attend any college summer camps? How many did you attend, and do you believe that it help you get recruited?

9. I attended three summer camps and I believe they gave me the opportunity to show the qualities that you can’t see on a highlight film and helped me to prove that I belong there.

1234561_765548953465108_323700226_n

Q: Did your coach suggest that you attend college summer camps, and if so at what grade level did you start to attend?

10. Yes, I started attending them the summer after my sophomore year.

Q: There several recruiting services, and combine services, have you tried any of them, and do you think that they were helpful?

11. I tried a combine service. I think it was a waste of money.

Q: What did you do to help yourself get recruited, and would you recommend the same to others?

12. I sent a lot of emails with links to my film and an athletic resume as well as sending a DVD and hard copy of the resume in the mail. Yes I would recommend doing that.

Q: What was the biggest surprise to you during the college recruiting process?

13. I was surprised by how much it felt like a business where the coaches were trying to get you for as cheap as possible and you were trying to get the biggest scholarship they could give you.

Thank you Marc Kagan for sharing your college recruiting experiences with our readers. We would love to have you back to share what it is like to be a college athlete.

Regards,

Coach Moody

 

