Tags

, , , ,

Hi, my name is Coach Gil Moody, and would like to welcome you all to an ongoing series called: “College Recruiting”. To gain a better insight on this topic, I have reached out to several formal: High School Athlete’s that are currently playing collegiate sports or had played and now have graduated from college.  Below is one of these interviews.

Please welcome George Beerhalter

WRMHGQXFLKGDPTQ.20130806144526

Position: Defensive Line
Height: 6’3
Weight: 280
Hometown: Pittsburgh, PA
HighSchool: Montour

High School

Three-year letter winner for head coach Lou Cerro at Montour High School … Earned second-team all-state honors as a senior after garnering third-team distinction as a junior … Will participate in the Pennsylvania Senior East vs. West Game … Reserve for the Big 33 Pennsylvania vs. Ohio Game … Participant at the 2009 Army National Combine in San Antonio … Selected to the all-conference team as both an offensive and defensive lineman following his junior and senior seasons … Served as a team captain in ’09 … Member of the Honor Roll … Volunteered with the Interact Club …

Q: What College are you currently attending or have graduated from?

A: I graduated from the College of William and Mary

Q: What sports were you recruited for, and played in College? Did you play more than one sport in College?

A: I was recruited and played football at William and Mary
EOCVNTFXLVEZLZF.20120419143507

Q: Did you play more than one sport in High School, and if so which sports were they?

A: I played 3 sports in High School: Football, Baseball, and Basketball

Q: What preparations did you take to research what colleges you were interested in?

A: I usually researched the college on the internet after they started showing interest, and the more interest they showed the more I would research the college or university.
beerhalter

Q: Have you heard of College Board, and have you used it? Was it helpful in your college selection process?

A: I have not heard of College Board nor did I use it.

Q: What kind of advice did your coach and or guidance counselor give you about researching and selecting a college?

A: My coach always said do not just pick a school for the purpose of football.  He always said weigh all of your options and pick a school that will make you become a better man and football player.
dp-sptpictures-william-and-mary-2013-football--111

Q: What advice did your parents give you to help throughout your college selection process?

A:  My parents were always very supportive of whatever I decided to do, and that meant the most to me.  No matter what decision I made I knew they would be behind me 100%.

Q: Were you under the impression that it was your coach’s responsibility to get you recruited? If so, where did you get that impression from?  

A: The only responsibility that I saw for my coach was to be honest to the college coaches about my abilities.  I was fortunate enough that my coach handled that and much more, which was a huge bonus in my case.

Q: Did you attend any college summer camps? How many did you attend, and do you believe that it help you get recruited?

A: Yes, I attended over a dozen college camps in various regions of the country.  I believe that it does help but I also believe that you have to really know that the college is really interested in you.  Usually at the college summer camps, coaches are only paying attention to half the athletes that are at the camp.  So make sure that you and the coach have interest in each other before you make the trip.  Bigger colleges tend to have great camps for the athletes that aren’t sure what level they’ll play at because there are a wide variety of college coaches that attend.
footballcaptains

Q: Did your coach suggest that you attend college summer camps, and if so at what grade level did you start to attend?

A: Yes, my coach said the best way to show coaches your skills is in person.  I started attending camps after my sophomore season, but that was mainly the bigger camps with a lot of coaches.  The following year I made up a list of colleges that I found mutual interest in and attended those.

Q: There several recruiting services, and combine services, have you tried any of them, and do you think that they were helpful?

A:  I went to a camp called Metro Index that was run by Joe Butler in Pittsburgh, PA and I found that to be the most beneficial camp/service around.  I attended the Nike Sparq camps but they did not really seem to benefit me.  I also attended the US Army All-American Combine in San Antonio, it was a great experience but I felt like I was too small of a prospect to benefit from it.

Q: What did you do to help yourself get recruited, and would you recommend the same to others?

A:  I was very active during the whole recruiting process.  I always followed up with a college that had interest in me.  Although recruiting is stressful, my advice is to just keep after it and always be honest with the coaches that are recruiting you.  Enjoy the whole process though; a lot of people out there would love to be in the shoes you are in.

Q: What was the biggest surprise to you during the college recruiting process?

A: I would say the biggest surprise is how overwhelming it is.  You have to stay on top of the recruitment or you will be swamped with make-up work.  Looking back at it, it is comparable to a yearlong research project.  

Thank you, George Beerhalter for sharing your college recruiting experiences with our readers. We would love to have you back to share what it is like to be a college athlete.

Regards,

Coach Moody

 

