Tags

, , ,

Hi, my name is Coach Gil Moody, and would like to welcome you all to an ongoing series called: “College Recruiting”. To gain a better insight on this topic, I have reached out to several formal: High School Athlete’s that are currently playing collegiate sports or had played and now have graduated from college.  Below is one of these interviews.

Please welcome Gary Kagan
PKYYDRADGMLVKSH.20110531144510

Position: Long Snapper
Height: 6’1
Weight: 265lb
Hometwon: Sabastian , FLA
High School: Sabastion River

High School:
Played under head coach Randy Bethel at Sebastian River High School… Named 2009 All-Indian River County Center… Named All-Treasure Coast Center in 2009… Selected 2008 Special Teams Player of the Year… 2009 Offensive Line Most Valuable Player.

Q: What College are you currently attending or have graduated from?

A: Monmouth University

Q: What sports were you recruited for, and played in College? Did you play more than one sport in College?

A: I was recruited to play football at Monmouth. I only played football while I was there.

Q: Did you play more than one sport in High School, and if so which sports were they?

A: Yes, I played lacrosse in high school as well.

Q: What preparations did you take to research what colleges you were interested in?

A: Unlike most high school athletes I knew exactly what I wanted to study before I even began looking at schools. So that really narrowed down my choices a lot. I wanted a relatively small school where I could play football and study software engineering.

Q: Have you heard of College Board, and have you used it? Was it helpful in your college selection process?

A: I have heard of College Board but I didn’t use its services for my college selection.

Q: What kind of advice did your coach and or guidance counselors give you about researching and selecting a college?

A: My coach and guidance counselor knew that I knew what I wanted to study, so they advised me to look first at a school that would be able to fit my academic needs and second give me an opportunity in football.

10011243_273296572849305_308513830_a

Q: What advice did your parents give you to help throughout your college selection process?

A: My dad was the driving force behind the whole college selection process. He made it a much lower stress situation than it could have been. He helped me identify schools that fit my criteria and kept everything organized, as a result my decision was a much more informed decision than I would have made if he wasn’t there to guide me.

Q: Were you under the impression that it was your coach’s responsibility to get you recruited? If so, where did you get that impression from?

A: No not at all. It was my coach’s responsibility to prepare me for college football, not to sell me to the college coaches.

Q: Did you attend any college summer camps? How many did you attend, and do you believe that it help you get recruited?

A: No I did not attend any college summer camps. I was initially recruited to Monmouth as a long snapper so I did attend some position specific camps that helped me immensely in my skill development.

Q: Did your coach suggest that you attend college summer camps, and if so at what grade level did you start to attend?

A: My coach made the college camps as accessible as possible to all of his players that he thought had potential at the next level.

20100219-221913-pic-787515482_5100228_ver1.0_640_480

Q: There several recruiting services, and combine services, have you tried any of them, and do you think that they were helpful?

A: I never used any recruiting or combine services.

Q: What did you do to help yourself get recruited, and would you recommend the same to others?

A: Good grades in high school would probably be the number one thing. A college coach would be much more likely to take a chance on a player when they don’t have to worry about the player doing poorly in the classroom. Aside from that, just constantly working to be in the best shape you can be in.

Q: What was the biggest surprise to you during the college recruiting process?

A: My biggest surprise came once I actually started at Monmouth. I came to the realization that the college coaches that are recruiting you and treating you like royalty now, will treat you like just another player once you’re on the field.

photo

Thank you Gary Kagan for sharing your college recruiting experiences with our readers. We would love to have you back to share what it is like to be a college athlete.

Regards,

Coach Moody

 

 

