Tags

, , , ,

Hi, my name is Coach Gil Moody, and would like to welcome you all to an ongoing series called: “College Recruiting”. To gain a better insight on this topic, I have reached out to several formal: High School Athlete’s that are currently playing collegiate sports or had played and now have graduated from college.  Below is one of these interviews.

Please welcome Brandon Heroux

LFVXYBAZPPHITKY.20110904002113

Position: Throws
Hometown: Westfield, N.J.
Major: Fiance
High School: Westfield

High School:

Penn Relays Champion in 2008 in the javelin throw … Named to the National Scholastic Sports Federation All-America Team in 2008 … Named second-team All-New Jersey, All Groups … First-team all-area (North II Group IV) in 2007 and 2008 … First-team All-Union County … First-team All-Watchung Conference in 2007 and 2008 … Named Male Athlete of the Week by the New Jersey Star Ledger, Courier News, and Westfield Ledger during the 2008 season … Named Westfield High School’s Union County Male Scholar Athlete of the Year … East Coast Relays Champion in 2007 … Also a standout on the pitch, earning honorable-mention all-state honors in soccer.
Q: What College are you currently attending or have graduated from?

A:  I graduated from The College of William & Mary in 2012.

Q: What sports were you recruited for, and played in College? Did you play more than one sport in College?

A: I was recruited at the DI level for track & field, specifically the javelin throw. I also spoke to a number of DIII coaches for soccer.

148651_1877663664915_1645493505_n

Q: Did you play more than one sport in High School, and if so which sports were they?

A: Yes, I played soccer and basketball.

Q: What preparations did you take to research what colleges you were interested in?

A: A number of schools contacted me during the summer of my junior year which got the ball rolling. I also made a 1-page ‘sports resume’ which I sent to a number coaches. I took 4 official visits that fall and officially committed to William & Mary the week before Thanksgiving.

Q: Have you heard of College Board, and have you used it?

A: Was it helpful in your college selection process? I have not heard of or used College Board.

255352_1783741916930_1286786402_n

Q: What kind of advice did your coach and or guidance counselor gave you about researching and selecting a college?

A: I didn’t receive any help from guidance counselors. My high school coach, Greg Gorski, was great – he and his brother Jeff are household names in the US javelin scene and both had positive things to say about the program and coaching staff at W&M.

Q: What advice did your parents give you to help throughout your college selection process?

A: My parents were very supportive of my decision. They obviously wanted me to go to a school where I’d be happy and where I’d be challenged – both athletically and academically.

269336_1754244179505_2076136687_n

Q: Were you under the impression that it was your coach’s responsibility to get you recruited?

A: If so, where did you get that impression from? No, I was never under the impression that it was my Coach’s responsibility. I knew from the start that I had to get my name out there, especially for an under the radar sport like the javelin.

Q: Did you attend any college summer camps? How many did you attend, and do you believe that it help you get recruited?

A: Yes, I did a camp with Jeff Gorski down in Chapel Hill, NC – Jeff is actually my high school coach’s brother. He’s the former USATF Men’s Javelin Development chair and is without question the most knowledgeable and experienced javelin coach in the US. Training with him certainty helped me get recruited. It not only made me a better thrower but Jeff’s network is incredible. I don’t think there’s a coach out there that hasn’t heard of him or trained under him in some way, shape or form. Being able to tell coaches that I had a direct open line to him was definitely a big plus.

Q: Did your coach suggest that you attend college summer camps, and if so at what grade level did you start to attend?

A: Ha-ha – it would have been troubling if my coach didn’t make the suggestion given the family ties. I went down to train with Jeff during the summer of my Junior year.

296522_1526438564507_467626616_n

Q: There several recruiting services, and combine services, have you tried any of them, and do you think that they were helpful?

A: Nope.

Q: What did you do to help yourself get recruited, and would you recommend the same to others?

A: The communication and dialogue between the athlete and coach needs to be a two-way street. Per NCAA rules, coaches can only call athletes so many times during the week/month so to gauge interest and build a relationship I was proactive in my communications. For a sport like track and field, coaches could quantify my results with a single mark, which made things a little easier. They didn’t have to be there in person to see my performance. It’s different for team sports where a coach may only have the 30 mins they spent at a showcase to judge your ability on.

Q: What was the biggest surprise to you during the college recruiting process?

A: I was fortunate to be on a partial scholarship but I was surprised at how little money some of these big schools have for scholarships. One of the schools I was recruited by (an ACC basketball powerhouse) had 2 full scholarships for their entire Men’s Track & Field/XC program. Those teams probably have a combined 60+ people on them for some perspective.

Thank you, Brandon Heroux for sharing your college recruiting experiences with our readers. We would love to have you back to share what it is like to be a college athlete.

Regards,

Coach Moody

