Tags

, , , ,

Hi, my name is Coach Gil Moody, and would like to welcome you all to an ongoing series called: “College Recruiting”. To gain a better insight on this topic, I have reached out to several formal: High School Athlete’s that are currently playing collegiate sports or had played and now have graduated from college.  Below is one of these interviews.

Please welcome Alex Gottlieb:

alex-gottlieb-football-headshot-photo

Position: Tight End
Height: 6’4
Weight: 255
Hometown: Delray Beach, FLA
High School: American Heritage School

High School:

Three-year letter winner at quarterback and tight end for American Heritage School … Co-captain of squad that captured the Florida 1A State Championship … Earned a bid to the prestigious Outback Bowl All-Star Game … Earned honorable mention all-area honors from the Palm Beach Post … Ended the season as team’s third-leading receiver with 250 yards and one touchdown on 13 receptions … Started scholastic playing career as a quarterback … Member of school’s Dean’s List … Lettered in lacrosse and baseball …

Q: What College are you currently attending or have graduated from?

I graduated from The College of William and Mary in 2012.

Q: What sports were you recruited for, and played in College? Did you play more than one sport in College?

I was recruited to play football and that is what I played at WM.

122f5d9c52d311e3883d0a0a0b2410cb_6

Q: Did you play more than one sport in High School, and if so which sports were they?

Yes, I played Football, Baseball, Basketball, and Lacrosse in high school.

Q: What preparations did you take to research what colleges you were interested in?

During the recruiting process, I established parameters for the type of school that I would like to attend. The criteria, in order of importance: Quality of education, type of football program, location, campus life.

Q: Have you heard of College Board, and have you used it? Was it helpful in your college selection process?

I have not heard of College Board.

LVFMXFJATXBCUYN.20110926190733

Q: What kind of advice did your coach and or guidance counselor gave you about researching and selecting a college?

My coach was very helpful in the selection process. He provided me with incite of the process altogether and helped me pick out what factors were the most important when making the decision.

Q: What advice did your parents give you to help throughout your college selection process?

My Dad was my number one supporter. It definitely made the process much more enjoyable and less stressful knowing that no matter where I went he would be by my side. He came with me on my official visits and ultimately helped me arrive to my decision to attend The College of William and Mary.

Alex+Gottlieb+Arizona+Cardinals+Rookie+Camp+OABIzBLcLMdl

Q: Were you under the impression that it was your coach’s responsibility to get you recruited? If so, where did you get that impression from?

I don’t know if it was his responsibility but he was the one who promoted me to the many college coaches that came through my high school.

Q: Did you attend any college summer camps? How many did you attend, and do you believe that it help you get recruited?

Yes. The reason I was able to play football at the collegiate level is because of the camps that I attended. I was not fortunate enough to have junior season film because I was making the transition from Quarterback to Tight End. I didn’t see the field much that year. The summer going into my senior year is when I started getting looks. I went to two camps: D1 Sports Camp in Ft. Lauderdale, FL and the University of Michigan Camp. All of my offers came from schools that I made an impact with while attending these camps. I was awarded “The Tight End of Camp” at the D1 camp and that definitely opened some scouts eyes.

Q: Did your coach suggest that you attend college summer camps, and if so at what grade level did you start to attend?

Yes. My coach knew that I needed to showcase my talent at these camps because no one knew about me because of my lack of junior film. Junior film is extremely valuable to play at the next level.

Gott

Q: There several recruiting services, and combine services, have you tried any of them, and do you think that they were helpful?

I did not use any recruiting services. I knew a lot of people who did and it proved to be helpful.

Q: What did you do to help yourself get recruited, and would you recommend the same to others?

I would recommend for others to take advantage of the many resources that are available out there. It is all about marketing yourself and getting your name out there. Most importantly, put in the time that is necessary for you to be successful on the field and in the classroom. You need to show these colleges that you are the complete package and that you will be able to compete on all levels from the first day that you step on campus. I have seen too many guys who have all of the talent in the world but don’t have it mentally, or cannot stay on the straight and narrow and end up being a bust. Don’t be that guy.

Q: What was the biggest surprise to you during the college recruiting process?

The fun part about being recruited to play college ball is that it is all a surprise. Everyone experiences this process for the first time and it is extremely exciting. My advice is to relish in the moment and enjoy the process. It can be stressful but it is the time in your life that you will never forget.

Thank you, Alex Gottlieb for sharing your college recruiting experiences with our readers. We would love to have you back to share what it is like to be a college athlete.

Regards,

Coach Moody

 

