Tags

, , , ,

Hi, my name is Coach Gil Moody, and would like to welcome you all to an ongoing series called: “College Recruiting”. To gain a better insight on this topic, I have reached out to several formal: High School Athlete’s that are currently playing collegiate sports or had played and now have graduated from college.  Below is one of these interviews.

Please welcome Devon Brown
3289813

Position: Wide Receiver
Height: 5-9
Weight: 185

Class: Senior
Hometown: Ashburn, Va.
High School: Stone Bridge

High School
The 2006 AAA Northern Region Offensive Player of the Year … First team Associated Press All-State … Named offensive player of the year by the Washington Post … Offensive player of the year in the Liberty District and Northern Region … Rushed for 1,744 yards and 29 touchdowns during his senior season at Stone Bridge, earning first team all-state honors, regional offensive player of the year, conference player of the year honors and first team all-conference honors … Owns the Stone Bridge record with 312 rushing yards in a 2006 game against Virginia Madison … also owns the season record with 1,730 yards in 2006 … As a junior at Bishop O’Connell, Brown rushed for 1,282 yards and 14 touchdowns … He also caught six passes for 157 yards and threw a touchdown … Transferred to Stone Bridge from Bishop O’Connell for his senior year … Coached by Mickey Thompson … One of four Stone Bridge products on the Wake Forest roster.

Q: What College are you currently attending or have graduated from?

A1: Wake Forest University/ West Virginia university

Q: What sports were you recruited for, and played in College? Did you play more than one sport in College?

A2: Football only

Q: Did you play more than one sport in High School, and if so which sports were they?

A3: Football, and basketball

NCAA Football - North Carolina State vs. Wake Forest - October 3, 2009

Q: What preparations did you take to research what colleges you were interested in?

A4: My recruiting began late, so I really looked at mostly FCS, academic, and smaller BCS schools.

Q: Have you heard of College Board, and have you used it? Was it helpful in your college selection process?

A5: I did use College Board coming out of high school. It was helpful as gave me insight on necessary qualifications for admittance into schools.

1487448_884961734850715_1406198025625110450_n 

Q: What kind of advice did your coach and or guidance counselor gave you about researching and selecting a college?

A6: My coach helped me a lot and gave me great advice in making my choice. Told me to make sure that I was comfortable at the school and to make a decision based off of more than just football.

Q: What advice did your parents give you to help throughout your college selection process?

A7: I really made my own decision and decided what was best for me.

Q: Were you under the impression that it was your coach’s responsibility to get you recruited? If so, where did you get that impression from?

A8: I did feel that some of the responsibility was on the coach to send highlight films and contact coaches. Although, I did feel that I was the most responsible through my performance.

Brown

Q: Did you attend any college summer camps? How many did you attend, and do you believe that it help you get recruited?

A9: The only college summer camp that I attended was JMU. I believe that it helped get my first offer as they were able to see me perform in person and were impressed.

Q: Did your coach suggest that you attend college summer camps, and if so at what grade level did you start to attend?

A10: I was recommended by my coach to attend camps. The one that I attended was going into my senior year.

Q: There several recruiting services, and combine services, have you tried any of them, and do you think that they were helpful?

A11: I attended the scout.com all American combine as well as the nike combine, both of which we’re going into my senior year. I do not believe that they helped too much.

Devon+Brown+Discover+Orange+Bowl+West+Virginia+SwKxsKoemfkl

Q: What did you do to help yourself get recruited, and would you recommend the same to others?

A12: To help my own recruitment, I emailed and contacted coaches myself. I let them know that I was interested in their program and send film

Q: What was the biggest surprise to you during the college recruiting process?

A13: There weren’t many surprises about the process, but once I was actually on campus and saw the talent it was a real eye opener. You go from being the guy to just another guy. It takes a lot of getting used to and adjustments have to be made from high school to college.

Thank you, Devon Brown for sharing your college recruiting experiences with our readers. We would love to have you back to share what it is like to be a college athlete.

Coach Moody

 

