Hi, my name is Coach Gil Moody, and would like to welcome you all to an ongoing series called: “College Recruiting”. To gain a better insight on this topic, I have reached out to several formal: High School Athlete’s that are currently playing collegiate sports or had played and now have graduated from college.  Below is one of these interviews.

Please welcome Bryan Morrison

421935_3101980542168_1700391542_n

Position: Offense Line
Height: 6-2
Class: Senior
Hometown: Ashburn, Va.
High School: Broad Run

HIGH SCHOOL:
Helped lead Broad Run to a district championship in 2007… Named to the 2007 AA All-State Team by VirginiaPreps.com… Rated as a top 100 player in the state of Virginia by the Roanoke Times…First Team All-Region and All-District as a senior… Second Team All-District as a junior… Three-year starter…Coached by Michael Burnett.

Q: What College are you currently attending or have graduated from?

A: Graduated from Old Dominion University in 2012, currently enrolled in graduate classes at George Mason University.

Q: What sports were you recruited for, and played in College? Did you play more than one sport in College?

A: Football only.

Q: Did you play more than one sport in High School, and if so which sports were they?

A: Yes, I played Football along with Wrestling for two years before I decided to focus only on football.

398914_3433050778717_1155849392_n

Q: What preparations did you take to research what colleges you were interested in?

A: With the help of my parents I used Google along with other talking such as alumni or other friends that were currently attending the school at the time to get gain information about the different schools of interest.

Q: Have you heard of College Board, and have you used it? Was it helpful in your college selection process?

A: No I have not heard of College Board and have not used it.

Q: What kind of advice did your coach and or guidance counselor gave you about researching and selecting a college?

A: My coach gave me guidance on what to do in order to prepare for the college selection process, mainly to make sure have the school be the right fit for me in regards to education and environment instead of going to a school just for a sport alone.

1909629_11531490426_617_n

Q: What advice did your parents give you to help throughout your college selection process?

A: My parents were the biggest help throughout that process in terms of my college selection especially in regards to the tremendous amount of hours they put in to making highlight tapes and sending them out to various colleges to help me get recruited. Once I received callbacks and interest they were behind me with any decision I was to make on the college I was to attend.

Q: Were you under the impression that it was your coach’s responsibility to get you recruited? If so, where did you get that impression from?

A; I believe that the coach’s responsibility is to help give the player the hard truth about where they have the potential to play and let them know about what needs to be done on the players end, such as making the highlight tapes and getting exposure to help them become a name in the recruiting arena. I got this impression because similar to finding a job; you must market yourself instead of having to rely on someone else to get you the opportunities in regards to both a job and scholarship offer.

1909879_1045022176799_2594_n

Q: Did you attend any college summer camps? How many did you attend, and do you believe that it help you get recruited?

A: Yes, I attended many college summer camps to include camps at schools such as the University of Maryland and James Madison University. I believed this helped me tremendously not only to get exposure to various college coaches but to also allow myself to gauge my ability to know where I stand in the ranks of other recruits in my class.

Q: Did your coach suggest that you attend college summer camps, and if so at what grade level did you start to attend?

A: He did recommend that we should attend camps and the more the merrier to gain the exposure and knowledge of where you stand skill set wise as I stated before. I believe that I started going to camps my junior year of High School.

Q: There several recruiting services, and combine services, have you tried any of them, and do you think that they were helpful?

A: Yes, one that I have used local to the area of Northern Virginia was Xtream Xplosion with Ricky Ervin’s, this was a major step to greatly improve my speed, agility, and running form so that my combine numbers would improve drastically.

Brown

Q: What did you do to help yourself get recruited, and would you recommend the same to others?

A; Some things that I did to help myself was to constantly have that drive to be in the weight room, workout, and to keep your nose clean so that you can be at your full potential and not throw away the prestigious opportunity of being a student athlete.

Q: What was the biggest surprise to you during the college recruiting process?

A: I would say that the biggest surprise of the college recruiting process is how cut throat the process is and that even though one school may offer you the world, they can easily take it back the next day if they so choose. As in life, it is always better to steer clear of those people who may lie to you or who may not truly be looking out for your best interest. Same goes for the college recurring process, make sure that you feel your interests are shared and that you will be able to not only get a great opportunity to play your sport but to get a great education to set you up later in life.

Thank you, Bryan Morrison for sharing your college recruiting experiences with our readers. We would love to have you back to share what it is like to be a college athlete.

Coach Moody

