Tags

, , , , ,

Hi, my name is Coach Gil Moody, and would like to welcome you all to an ongoing series called: “College Recruiting”. To gain a better insight on this topic, I have reached out to several formal: High School Athlete’s that are currently playing collegiate sports or had played and now have graduated from college.  Below is one of these interviews.

Please welcome Zach Thompson

8986239

Height: 6’5
Weight: 265
Class: Senior
Hometown: Ashburn, VA
High School: Stone Bridge H.S.

High School
A 2009 graduate of Stone Bridge High School in Ashburn, Va. … Played for his father, Mickey Thompson, at Stone Bridge … First team All-Met by the Washington Post in 2008 … First team Class 3A all-state selection as a defensive lineman in 2008 … First team All-Liberty District as both a tight end and defensive end … Earned first team All-Northern Region at both positions as well … Was second on the Stone Bridge team in tackles with 62 tackles and seven sacks as a senior … Caught 18 passes for 310 yards and four TDs in 2008 … Was an all-region pick and a unanimous all-district pick as a junior … Named to the Washington Post Loudoun All-Extra team in 2007 and 2008 … Ranked as the No. 20 prospect in Virginia by SuperPrep.com … Scout.com lists him as the No. 88 defensive end prospect … Recruited by Brad Lambert.

Q: What College are you currently attending or have graduated from?

A1: I graduated from Wake Forest University.

Q: What sports were you recruited for, and played in College? Did you play more than one sport in College?

A2: Football, only football

Q: Did you play more than one sport in High School, and if so which sports were they?

A3: Yes, I played baseball but stopped playing after my sophomore year. I played football for all four years of high school.

NCAA Football - Wake Forest Demon Deacons vs. North Carolina State Wolfpack - November 13, 2010

Q: What preparations did you take to research what colleges you were interested in?

A4: I visited the schools that had showed the most interest and had offered full scholarships. I met with the coaching staffs, walked the campuses, and researched the academic prestige of each university.

Q: Have you heard of College Board, and have you used it? Was it helpful in your college selection process?

A5: I wasn’t aware of College Board back when I was deciding on where to commit. Since then, I have heard of College Board, but did not use it in my college selection process.

Q: What kind of advice did your coach and or guidance counselor gave you about researching and selecting a college?

A6 and A7: I had an advantage because my high school coach was my father. He had been through the college recruiting process before and had played college football at the University of Virginia in the late 70’s. He was a very helpful resource. I had various options, so he advised me to go with the most comfortable fit. He made sure that I had taken visits, and done my research on the schools that I was highly considering.

Q: What advice did your parents give you to help throughout your college selection process?

A: See the above answer

Zach Thompson sacks CJ Brown-L

Q: Were you under the impression that it was your coach’s responsibility to get you recruited? If so, where did you get that impression from?

A8: No. I understood that it was my responsibility to get recruited. I had to play well so that I had quality film to send out to college coaching staffs.

Q: Did you attend any college summer camps? How many did you attend, and do you believe that it help you get recruited?

A9: I had participated in some team 7 on 7 camps. I had already received all of my offers before attending the 7 on 7 competitions, so they didn’t have any effect on my recruiting process.

Q: Did your coach suggest that you attend college summer camps, and if so at what grade level did you start to attend?

A10: Yes, my father suggested going to some summer camps because they give you the opportunity to compete against top level recruits. I went to a Virginia Tech one day camp early in my high school career (Fr. or Soph year) just to see where I stood against some of the better athletes in my recruiting class.

Zach Thompson interception-XL

Q: There several recruiting services, and combine services, have you tried any of them, and do you think that they were helpful?

A11: Other than some local combines, I didn’t attend any regional showcases. My game tape and what I put on film was most important in my recruiting process.

Q: What did you do to help yourself get recruited, and would you recommend the same to others?

A12: I just focused on improving from year to year. I saw great results from speed and strength training in the off-seasons. During my senior year of high school I started to train with local strength trainer Dave Mikel, who now owns Performance Edge in Leesburg, Virginia. He prepared me for the college level and I continue to work with him to this day.

Q: What was the biggest surprise to you during the college recruiting process?

A13: I was surprised at how stressful the whole college recruiting process is. Choosing where to spend the next four years of your life is a huge decision for any 18 year old.

Thank you, Zach Thompson for sharing your college recruiting experiences with our readers. We would love to have you back to share what it is like to be a college athlete.

Coach Moody

