Tags

,

Hi, my name is Coach Gil Moody, and would like to welcome you all to an ongoing series called: “College Recruiting”. To gain a better insight on this topic, I have reached out to several formal: High School Athlete’s that are currently playing collegiate sports or had played and now have graduated from college.  Below is one of these interviews.

Please welcome Brian Wheaton

 headshot_2_brian_wheaton_2012_baseball

Height: 5-11
Weight: 165
Class: Senior
Hometown: Ashburn, Virginia
High School: Stone Bridge

High School/Club

Brian was a three-year letter winner at Catcher for Stone Bridge High School under Head Coach Sam Plank. During his career he helped lead the team to three consecutive Liberty District Tournament Finals and Northern Region Tournament appearances…Lead the team to the 1st Liberty District Regular Season and Tournament Championships in 2008… As a senior, earned all-district honors.  

Q: What College are you currently attending or have graduated from? 

A: Texas Lutheran University

Q: What sports were you recruited for, and played in College? Did you play more than one sport in College?

A: Baseball, NO

Q: Did you play more than one sport in High School, and if so which sports were they?

A: Yes, Baseball and Football

Brian 1

Q: What preparations did you take to research what colleges you were interested in? 

A: I attended various college camps and select tournaments during the summer leaden up to my senior year.

Q: Have you heard of College Board, and have you used it? Was it helpful in your college selection process?

A: Yes I had heard of it but, didn’t not use it much to assist me in choosing. 

Q: What kind of advice did your coach and or guidance counselor give you about researching and selecting a college?

A: The most information I received when learning about the schools I could pick from came from the visits and tours.

Brian 2

Q: What advice did your parents give you to help throughout your college selection process?

A: They wanted me to understand that importance of the education the university could provide.

Q: Were you under the impression that it was your coach’s responsibility to get you recruited? If so, where did you get that impression from?

A: No, as a baseball player it fell on the shoulders of myself and my family. The best way to get myself recruited came from summer baseball that I was able to do because of my family.

Q: Did you attend any college summer camps? How many did you attend, and do you believe that it help you get recruited?

A: Yes, prior to my senior year I attended seven college sponsored baseball tournaments. It helped me get more exposure. The school I ended up attending did not attend any of these events.

Q: Did your coach suggest that you attend college summer camps, and if so at what grade level did you start to attend?

A: No

Brian 3

Q: There several recruiting services, and combine services, have you tried any of them, and do you think that they were helpful?

A: Yes, I attended one Perfect Game individual showcase and a team showcase. The individual was not much help as I was too young. When I was a senior I attended the fall team showcase which helped me get more exposure as a mature player.

Q: What did you do to help yourself get recruited, and would you recommend the same to others?

A: I would recommend attending as many off season camps or tournaments as possible.  The more you are exposed the greater your chances get.

Q: What was the biggest surprise to you during the college recruiting process?

A: It consists of more than just a coach asking you to come play for them. I had to work to stay on the coaches’ mind as he was working with a lot of players during the process.

Thank you, Brian Wheaton for sharing your college recruiting experiences with our readers. We would love to have you back to share what it is like to be a college athlete.

 

Coach Moody

