Tags

, , ,

College Recruiting: Michael Prince

Hi, my name is Coach Gil Moody, and would like to welcome you all to my ongoing series on: “College Recruiting”. To gain a better insight on this topic, I have reached out to several formal: High School Athlete’s that are currently playing collegiate sports or had played and now have graduated from college.  Below is one of these interviews.

Please Welcome Michael Prince

Image

Position: Wide Receiver
Height: 5’11
Year: Graduate
Hometown: Ashburn, Va.
High School: Stone Bridge, H.S.

High School:  Earned nine varsity letters in football, basketball and baseball at Stone Bridge High School… as a receiver gained more than 1,400 yards and scored 19 touchdowns… first-team All-Liberty District and All-Northern Region, Washington Post All-Extra Team and received Virginia High School League all-state recognition… first-team all-district and All-Gameday Magazine honors as a baseball outfielder.

Q: What College are you currently attending or have graduated from? 

A: James Madison University

Q: What sports were you recruited for, and played in College? Did you play more than one sport in College? 

A: Football. No, I gave baseball a shot my junior year.

Q: Did you play more than one sport in High School, and if so which sports were they?

A: Yes, Basketball, Baseball, and Football

Image

 

Q: What preparations did you take to research what colleges you were interested in? 

A: I grew up around the James Madison campus. My aunt and uncle lived in Harrisonburg. I had my heart set on JMU from the beginning. I was still open to other colleges and universities. I gathered information through word of mouth and college visits.

 Image

Q: Have you heard of College Board, and have you used it? Was it helpful in your college selection process?

A: I have heard of College Board. The only time that I used College Board was in a couple classes my senior year.

Q: What kind of advice did your coach and or guidance counselor gave you about researching and selecting a college?

A: I had a list of schools that I was interested in and my coaches and counselors gathered all the information they could to help make the process easier for me.

 Image

Q: What advice did your parents give you to help throughout your college selection process?

A: Go to a place where you will be happy.

Q: Were you under the impression that it was your coach’s responsibility to get you recruited? If so, where did you get that impression from? 

A: Some people might get that impression that it’s the coach’s responsibility. But, that’s not in their job description.  I was lucky enough to have Coach Mickey Thompson as my football coach. He always went the extra mile. He cared about my future and wanted me to succeed at everything that I did.

Q: Did you attend any college summer camps? How many did you attend, and do you believe that it help you get recruited?

A: I attended multiple college one day camps in Virginia, Maryland, and North Carolina. I also participated in 7 on 7 tournaments. I believe the camps helped me gain exposure. It helps when college coaches know who you are going into the season.

 Image

Q: Did your coach suggest that you attend college summer camps, and if so at what grade level did you start to attend?

A: Yes. I started attending camps going into my junior year.

Q: There several recruiting services, and combine services, have you tried any of them, and do you think that they were helpful?

A: Yes, I participated in a few combines just to see where I stood among the other athletes. At that age, I believe they can be helpful for me personally, I don’t believe that they helped. They were more of a measuring tool for my personal goals.

Q: What did you do to help yourself get recruited, and would you recommend the same to others?

A: A major reason why I got recruited was because of my coach. Personally, I don’t think I did enough to put myself out there. I limited myself to schools close to Virginia. If I could do it over again, I wish I expanded my search a little farther out to see what some schools farther away could offer.

Q: What was the biggest surprise to you during the college recruiting process? 

A: There is a “LOT” of other athletes that are just as good, if not better than you. They want your spot and you MUST get better every day. Nothing is guaranteed.

Thank you, Michael Prince for sharing your college recruiting experiences with our readers.We would love to have you back to share what it is like to be a college athlete.

 

Coach Moody

 

